Visual Drawings – Montagues and Capulets (Colour)

Working with my ideas of Synesthesia, I dived straight into working with colour, mixing colours, working with cool and warm colours, and what colours we (in this case, myself) perceive with different tones. I feel when it comes to creating scores, linear compositions have a greater effect and are much stronger visually in my work.

The final 5'21" visual score for my chosen sound "Montagues and Capulets" (Sectioned and numbered)

I feel the vivid colours are perhaps a little too bright for an atmospheric-seemly-dark song, but sometimes you have to think a little bit more about what you’re hearing. I’m inspired by the more famous title of this song “The Dance of the Knights” when I think of this title, it seems to be a partnership with motion, and could be seen as a dance of victory, of liberation – Hence the eratic motion of the medium on the surface – it’s unknown, unpredictible, yet there is still a sadness and beauty, was it their last dance?


I’ve decided that after doing a few more drawings on Montagues, i’m going to start working on my own score, I feel I can understand and interpret what i’m working on, and in order to do my score justice, i’m going to need to fine tune my ideas of motion and synesthesia (defined in the context of this project: is how colours have affected my judgement of sound, and how I visually create tone, pitch and mood).

~ by Ashleigh Inglis on April 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
